I just wanted to take a moment out of DIY and crafting and share with you one of my favorite creations of right now.

The Living Dress

Lady Gaga presented this dress during her Monster Ball Tour. It was designed by Hussein Chalayan and constructed by Vanilla Burnham. It is fashion ingenuity; the combination of style and movement; dancing fabric.

Gagapedia explains that "The fabrics used were stainless steel, various forms of nylon fabrics, sheet and rods, different weights of plastic sheeting and coutil for the corset. The dress is very heavy, but the weight was distributed so that the dress would be wearable."

The dress was debuted on February 24th 2010 during the Monster Ball Tour. Unfortunately the performance I went to this year in Boston did not feature this aspect of the show (I would have died if I did) and had no idea of its existance until HBO premiered the Concert at the beginning of this month.

I find myself dreaming of this dress and the future of fashion; what if every day normal clothing moved, like a fashionable dance... Hmmmm?



Leave a Reply.